Welcome to Wyrd Forums

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more!

This message will be removed once you have signed in.

Aaron

March 2017 FAQ

24 posts in this topic

The bonus damage reduction makes me sad.  Sam Hopkins had actually become usable for a little while.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, 4thstringer said:

The bonus damage reduction makes me sad.  Sam Hopkins had actually become usable for a little while.

I'm unfamiliar with Sam; what bonus damage was he using with a trigger?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Kirby said:

I'm unfamiliar with Sam; what bonus damage was he using with a trigger?

Debt to the guild with the ricochet trigger

Actually, it's quite bad for debt to the guild in general :o

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ricochet schmicochet (boy, was that difficult to type properly :P ), what about Raking Fire?! :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Quote

Headhunter Markers are placed after the Action is fully resolved.

Thank goodness this got spelled out.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
55 minutes ago, Tris said:

Debt to the guild with the ricochet trigger

Actually, it's quite bad for debt to the guild in general :o

I used to use it with vengance bullet too.  

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So just to make sure I got this right, 

Allison Dade targets an enemy Ryle using her "One More Question" She is within 6" of a friendly guardsman so she makes a 1/2/3. and flips week

She gets the "How Do You Explain What Happened at Innocence?" forcing Ryle to take 2 damage.

Ryle gets his Df: Grind to a halt and gains +2 armor for a total of 3 Armor.

Dade was at a negative during the duel and flipped weak for 1, then because of the FAQ's her trigger is "a part of the Action which caused them" so she does a total of 3 damage which is reduced to 1. as opposed to doing 1 damaged from the attack then an additional 2 which would be reduced to 1 but for a total of 2 damage.

Is this correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, there are still two instances of damage. Ryle will take 1 damage twice.

What this reduces is Alison pops Debt, does a damage flip+1 and also 2+1 damage on the trigger. Now she does damage flip+1 and 2 damage on the trigger.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So Abuela Ortega Sawed Shotgun trigger receives Focus and accuracy modifiers?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Azkral said:

So Abuela Ortega Sawed Shotgun trigger receives Focus and accuracy modifiers?

Yes, but that was true with the last version of the FAQ as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Mason said:

Yes, but that was true with the last version of the FAQ as well.

Played that wrong then.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Azkral said:

Played that wrong then.

...so did I.

Oof.

Well, I suppose that counterbalances losing Debt off of triggers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So this is another instance where I will have to rely SOOOO much on my opponent remembering this. There are so many instances where I just say, "just tell me what happens I trust you" because its just so hard to know all of the other details of my opponents crew. 

I actually like this aspect, makes Malifaux what it is. Just have to live with the occasional aftermath of "oh that game last week actually shouldn't have gone that way..."

I find that keeping things casual really helps mitigate all the complex and sometimes overlooked rule evolution. I am curious how other groups handle this? A post for a different thread I think...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
33 minutes ago, Gnomezilla said:

...so did I.

Oof.

Well, I suppose that counterbalances losing Debt off of triggers.

No, not really - accuracy modifiers where applied before, the 'no extra damage on triggers' thing is new :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does this mean that Overpower on Raspy doesn't get +1 damage to the second attack as well? I understand that it's a separate action technically but it's being generated by a trigger?

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, would like to know that too - does the extra damage apply to additional attack actions generated by triggers?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is just referring to fixed damage on triggers.

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
13 minutes ago, Aaron said:

It is just referring to fixed damage on triggers.

Thanks.

Could we add that somehow in the official document, as it seems to confuse people? :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh good, now we won't have a semi-regular "How do Anna Lovelace's auras work" thread that goes on forever.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thx for the update.

I feel that many things inside the FAQ would justify an errata session of the rulebook and some of the cards, if only to clarify the wording and add clarifications inside the rules.

Now that we have an electronic free version of the rulebook, an update would be more than welcome.

22 pages of FAQ is getting a bit too big and inconvenient when training new players (and annoying for old players as well :p).

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quick questions regarding

  • 51 - Conditions gained during Upkeep can process during the Upkeep step.

 

I have a model that reaches the end step with Burning +2 and Poison +2. I am the first player. I resolve my burning +2 and take 2 damage and remove the condition. I resolve my Poison+2 take 1 damage and lower the condition to poison +1. Then play 2 has a poison gamin and a fire gamin both die next to me. So I now have Poison+2 and Burning+1. 

I understand that the FAQ clarifies that I will now resolve the burning again as this is a new condition, but do I resolve the poison again since I have already resolved the condition on me?

 

And the slightly more complicated version. 

I am a model with Hard to kill. I have 8 wounds poison +1 and burning +1. I am the first player. Nearby is an enemy poison gamin on 1 wound with Burning+1 and 2 enemy fire gamin with 1 wound each and poison +1 each. 

I resolve my burning and poison as I am the first player. 2 damage. Player 2 now starts to resolve his condition effects in an order of his choosing. He resolves 1 fire gamin, exploding dealing 1 damage and burning +1 to me. Do I now go back to resolve my burning condition as player 1 before player 2 resolved Gamin 2?

(I had planed a complicated set up where if I resolved my poison a second time first i lived due to hard to kill but if I resolved buring first I die, and then realised the question doesn't need me to go so far. I also took out all reliance on he first question answer for it to work). 

3 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Adran Player 1 resolves first if both players have unresolved conditions so it seems to me like you go back since I don't see this changing from the errata. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey Aaron,

There's this rather contentious conversation that's come up on the Facebook group about Dade's hand reveal and whether it's appropriate to record the player's hand. It's also grown to incorporate the question of what's permissible as a reference in playing Malifaux.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/AWYRDPLACE/permalink/617362651794136/

I've already said my piece on the Facebook group that I think it's polite to allow my opponent to record my hand when revealed, especially since people may have memory issues more severe than the average person - enough to put them in that grey space where they can function socially but need a bit of help, and it's not my place to interrogate them about whether they do (especially since they may have internalized societal stigma and feel bad about their being disabled, therefore being less willing to bring it up).

I'm not sure if such things as hand recording or the larger issue of references is covered precisely, but those two things might need greater consideration for the next FAQ.

Just bringing to your attention :)

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now