D's thoughts on campaings

D_acolyte

My thoughts setting up to play in a campaigns

First off, I have not done one of these in a while because various thoughts are scrambled in my head and this one just happened to come to the top. Also you will see me mention my father, my father and I have been playing in miniature games for about 15 years and my goal is often to beat him.

I am currently in the last week of a campaign with the group I play with being ran by our local henchmen. I currently have 7 wins out of 9 games and a differential in the mid to high 20s; this does not put me in first as I know that going into this week there where 2 people ahead of me including my father. This is the second campaign I have played in and I have some thoughts about the strategy behind them.

How I See Goals in a Campaigns

I see pickup games, campaigns, and tournaments as test of different skills. Pickup games are a testing ground, I have all these models I can take and now I want to see what works. Campaigns are a refinement of vision and concept, I am starting here and I want to end there is that possible or even going to happen. Tournaments are a trial by fire of your skill and adaptability.

The first goal of any game is to have fun, if you do not have fun then why are you playing.

Now as for more specific goals for a campaign it is about growth and sometimes you might have to make hard choices. I literally had to choose between completing my bounty and getting a master for the next week or winning a game. That is a hard choice and I choose getting my master. Some background on that game, the strategy was one of the odd story ones where you have to give valentines to your enemy but the event was to interact with a thing in the middle of the board to get script. My bounty was to make script on the event and my enemy was the Vic of Blood and Ronins. I had to clear the center to be able to interact which put the 2 outcomes at odds with each other.