Welcome to Wyrd Forums

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more!

This message will be removed once you have signed in.

  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
sado2020

Totems when a Master leaves play

Question

Hi all new to the forums and apologies if this has been asked too much.  But my question is the same as the thread title; Does the totem remain in play when a master dies? Namely I just started playing Lynch and Hungering Darkness and have had a bad habit of getting Jacob killed.....I was told by some they didn't know if Lynch dies Huggy goes away too.  So I just wanted to get some clarification

 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

12 answers to this question

  • 2

Unless there is a rule on the card that says so, no. In Jacob and the Darknesses case, no if you kill Jakob the Darkness does not leave play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 2

Although do bear in mind in the specific case of the Hungering Darkness, its ability to bury instead of dying and unbury again is linked to an upgrade that Lynch carries. If Lynch dies, that upgrade is no longer in play and the Hungering Darkness can then be killed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1

Please see my first post. Unless a rule specifically says so, no. Killing a master does not remove a totem from play.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1

In 1st Ed the Totem would leave play if the Master was killed.

Malifaux 2.0 has no such rule as mentioned above. The totem does not leave play because the Master does.

Your Henchmen is possibly remembering the older version of the rules :)

Cheers :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Thanks guys.  So in general if a Master dies does their totem leave play?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

 

6 minutes ago, Fetid Strumpet said:

Please see my first post. Unless a rule specifically says so, no. Killing a master does not remove a totem from play.

Gotcha. I just wanted to get extra clarified for games when I'm not using Lynch.  Thanks for the info!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
5 hours ago, Fetid Strumpet said:

...Killing a master does not remove a totem from play.

"::Sigh:: not anymore . . ."

Addams-Family-Values-16-4.jpg

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On ‎3‎/‎18‎/‎2017 at 2:18 AM, Jeebus said:

"::Sigh:: not anymore . . ."

Addams-Family-Values-16-4.jpg

Just saw this, XD so a master dying removes a totem? I can't seem to find it anywhere in the rules :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 minutes ago, sado2020 said:

Just saw this, XD so a master dying removes a totem? I can't seem to find it anywhere in the rules :(

No. I assume the post you quoted means that your master dying also removed your totem in 1st edition, but doesn't anymore in 2nd edition.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, Dogmantra said:

No. I assume the post you quoted means that your master dying also removed your totem in 1st edition, but doesn't anymore in 2nd edition.

XD ah alrighty.  Is there anyplace I can find this? I asked my local henchman and he said that totems do leave play when a master dies

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

It never did that in 1st edition either. 

As for showing where it says your totem doesn't die when the master is removed, Malifaux is a permissive Rules set it tells you what you can and must do, it would be more appropriate to have your henchman show you the supposed rule where it says it does happen.

There is no such rule, just like there is no rule that says you lose all your henchman when the leader is killed.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
34 minutes ago, sado2020 said:

XD ah alrighty.  Is there anyplace I can find this? I asked my local henchman and he said that totems do leave play when a master dies

Tell him to check this thread! :lol:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0