How Does a Turtle Learn to Charge?

Gnomezilla

Another tournament yesterday. In round two I reverted to my usual poor showing.

Round one was close deployment, as was all of henchman hardcore. Apparently, given close deployment, even if deploying first, I wreck face. Very anomalous. (Blind deployment during Divergent Paths wasn't bad either, but that'll happen again approximately never.) Therefore my major failure at this game is probably in figuring out the opponent's threat ranges beyond where models are at any given moment.

...so what can I try to practice to get better at that, if weekly games aren't helping? I am not good at visualizing overlapping auras, for certain.

Waaaayyyyyyyy back in the Grim dark times, I had similar trouble with my Dark Eldar, as far as visualizing bubbles of threat range. Now I accurately refer to their carrying case as the Pink Bag of Death because I made it my business to improve my ability to see those bubbles.

Step 1: Measure eeeeeeverything that is a threat to you, and how far away you can be a threat to a potential target. As much as possible stay out of their bubbles and put them in yours.

Step 2: Repeat Step 1 until you see bubbles. If your screen saver is the bouncing bubbles over personal pictures, that unfortunately doesn't count.

Honestly, for me it's less about visualizing bubbles, and more that, through repeatedlyrics asking/looking up/measuring those distances I found I developed an eye for those distances and stuck them in the memory banks. Ended up being able to tell a new opponent if they could get to me or not without them having to look it up.

Took a while, but a valuable skill to have. I'm very excited to say it transfered pretty easily to Malifaux.

Best of luck!

• Like 1

Play friendly games and ask. Not just "what's Howards wk stat" but "seriously, how far can your list get him in total over a turn?"