Shifting Loyalties Campaign as Arcanists in 2017

retnab

Hey all, my local gaming group is doing a Shifting Loyalties campaign starting next month and I'm excited to give it a go!  I've never done the campaign before though and I'm not sure what a good start to my crew would be.  I know I want to make Carlos my leader (I'm torn between taking Kaeris or Mei Feng as my eventual Master), and I was hoping to take the Emissary with the standard upgrade and some minions, but then I'd have to choose between the Emissary's upgrade and Stunt Double.  So right now I'm thinking of taking one of these two:

1) Carlos Vasquez, Arcane Emissary (Arcane Conflux), Large Arachnid, Rail Worker, Union Miner, 0 scrip.

2) Carlos Vasquez (Stunt Double), Gunsmith, Large Arachnid, Rail Worker, Union Miner, 2 scrip.

Are either of those any good as a start?  Any suggestions?

• Like 1

I like the addition of the Gunsmith over the Emissary. He is a hard hitter but also very squishy early in the campaign. You don't want to see him get delivered a few injuries before there's enough points on the board to protect him a bit. Also in low point games, Gunsmiths can really ramp up to do some damage

• Like 1

The better choose is the choose with more scrip,ever.

I've start a campaign with Cassandra,and with 2 scrip at least...

I'm the one in my group that has started with scrip and is a good thing,beacause you need 4 scrip to buy the bounty.

Bounty done--->Cool rewards--->unlock the 15 scrip Master 

Agreed, number 2 list seems good.

I don't know much about campaigns but one of the best things Gunsmiths offer is their versatility and easyish access to Fast. Normal 50ss Malifaux doesn't really care about versatility, and Fast on a 2/3/4 minion isn't exemplary. However, in smaller ss games Fast becomes even more valuable and the versatility they bring is worth so much.