Jump to content

We're currently updating the site and a few things may run slow or not as expected at the moment. Give us a day or two to get everything sorted out and changed up if you would.

One of the new things you'll see about are the 'sticky notes' which you will occasionally see from the site Admins if something important shows up or is newsworthy, or if you happen to be in one of our many beta testing groups giving you an additional heads up when something new needs to be looked at or sorted.

You can send these amongst yourselves as well if you wish, just don't abuse it. 

Thanks for your patience!

Nathan Caroland Nathan Caroland
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Drunken Kung Fu Kid

Scion of the void and specific upgrades

Question

So the scion is burried and any other model uses his whispers from nothing ability.

It says "...friendly non-peon models may declare this models Actions (including Triggers) during their Activations..."

And the upgrade "The Bigger They Are..." says:

"This model's Actions which deal damage deal +1 damage..." 

 

So does the upgrade effect carry over to the voidwretch or whatever is using the ability to declare the scion's actions?

As far as I understand it should be able to use the upgrade sind both texts use the same wording "this model's actions".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1
Seadhna   

It's actually much easier than that: most upgrades give passive abilities to models.

 

Bigger they are gives the Scion an ability which only applies to the Scion. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Ludvig   

The upgrade only affects actions taken by the model that has the upgrade attached I think. It would be in line with conditions etc. which have that effect. You copy actions unmodified by anything that modifies them and then sort out which modifiers affect the actual model taking the action.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Well for instance if we take a look at the doppelgangers card, the wording is like this:

 

"...this model may take the selected action as if it were on this models card"

 

So the question would be if declaring someones actions is different.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 hours ago, Drunken Kung Fu Kid said:

Well for instance if we take a look at the doppelgangers card, the wording is like this:

 

"...this model may take the selected action as if it were on this models card"

 

So the question would be if declaring someones actions is different.

 

 

In most cases no. The only times it would matter is if the action or ability of another model were to check your card for some specific action or some type of action(Ml, Ca, Sh, :melee,:ranged) it would find that action on the Doppleganger's card but it wouldn't find that action on the card of a model that is just using another model's action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
solkan   
12 hours ago, Drunken Kung Fu Kid said:

Well for instance if we take a look at the doppelgangers card, the wording is like this:

 

"...this model may take the selected action as if it were on this models card"

 

So the question would be if declaring someones actions is different.

For what it's worth, the subject of copying actions and which modifiers apply has been the source of controversy in the forums before. 

Compare the Doppleganger's wording to something like Hannah's Make a New Entry

Quote

Select one of the target's (1) Ca Actions which does not list a model by name.  This model immediately takes that Action, but may not declare Triggers.

where the action is just performed (taken) without the "as if it were on this model's card" language.

There's a pretty clear case that the Doppleganger gets the unmodified text of the action, since that's what it would have if the action were printed on its card instead of on the other model's card.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

×