Jump to content

We're currently updating the site and a few things may run slow or not as expected at the moment. Give us a day or two to get everything sorted out and changed up if you would.

One of the new things you'll see about are the 'sticky notes' which you will occasionally see from the site Admins if something important shows up or is newsworthy, or if you happen to be in one of our many beta testing groups giving you an additional heads up when something new needs to be looked at or sorted.

You can send these amongst yourselves as well if you wish, just don't abuse it. 

Thanks for your patience!

Nathan Caroland Nathan Caroland
Ammanas

Abbysinian Strats and Rules

Recommended Posts

Ammanas   

Cheers! we can now add the Dreadnought to this now.

Feeling much better about my attraction to this allegiance now I see what makes them tick.

Love the heavy asset look

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Still not really sure what to make of their playstyle here.....anybody got much of an idea of what to expect?

 

Aesthetically I think I like these guys......but I get frustrated being out activated in Malifaux so I'm a bit concerned about these being the 'low number, elite' units and being out activated again.  but if they have a few tricks up their sleeve....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ammanas   

I'm purely extrapolating here but their AdvancedPrototypes rule reads as if they get more Assets (and free) per unit than other Allegiances.

And doing it in the scouting phase means you can suddenly alter a units strengths or cover a weakness after your opponent has already sized you up. 

That an it would appear that Assets can be used for damage reduction (from what I've seen in the Gameplay video)

I'm getting a very space marine vibe. 

Fewer in number, more versatile and resilient 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
30 minutes ago, Ammanas said:

I'm getting a very space marine vibe. 

Fewer in number, more versatile and resilient 

Agreed and in Malifaux terms I'd call that the Arcanist vibe, I'm almost certain that at some point the smaller grunts might come in also (little machines) but so far they are the superior stat guys, with superior cards in hand and a ton of glory/hard hitting options.

Quality over quantity and all that. The funny part is that King's Empire actually feels like Guild (ranged) so far. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Clement   

I don't get the triggers we keep seeing...

So today they revealed the Basotho cavalry, who on their glory side *also* have a :tome trigger to draw a card, this time if they kill an enemy fire team.   We've seen a previous card draw trigger on Prince Unathi.

The problem though is that Abyssinia, by virtue of just *being* Abyssinia already has a :tome trigger with free card draw on all fire teams and all actions.  Do we get to take both triggers with only one tome in the total or something?  Is that what I'm missing?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Axelst   

We need two tomes in order to declare both triggers. According to Aaron there are a few ways to add suits to a duel. Also, Basotho Cavalry can be hired in King's Empire thanks to Kassa, in which case they I don't think they get to use the rules for the Abyssinia alllegience.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Aaron   
Just now, Axelst said:

Also, Basotho Cavalry can be hired in King's Empire thanks to Kassa, in which case they I don't think they get to use the rules for the Abyssinia alllegience.

They don't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
RMK   
21 hours ago, Axelst said:

We need two tomes in order to declare both triggers. 

I thought this game was different than malifaux in that you could declare all applicable triggers. E.g. With one tome you could declare both. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, RMK said:

I thought this game was different than malifaux in that you could declare all applicable triggers. E.g. With one tome you could declare both. 

Not quite. If you end up with a tome and a ram, you can declare a tome trigger and a ram trigger, but you can't declare two different tome triggers from the same tome. It's 'used up' if you will. Kind of like margin triggers eat up margin when you declare them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Agnelcow   
10 minutes ago, RMK said:

I thought this game was different than malifaux in that you could declare all applicable triggers. E.g. With one tome you could declare both. 

It's not "all applicable" but "as many as you can afford". You basically spend suits and margin on triggers, instead of picking one that you match

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest noya   
Guest noya
On 12/17/2016 at 11:54 PM, trikk said:

81adb88be27bf9216893b39bd68aaee2_original.jpg349000a09f18524fbc1f9e7030bf8fa8_origina

 

41979886b8e633b3840784e6975d1442_origina8db00d87b790c15717def4e4487312b6_origina

 

9ed71823bace6f3c8b294858d8867149_origina

6940d0adcc2d5a2ea43525ee6350b62d_origina

08be59e9f75ba6f7706abe6402966746_origina

from the KS page after the $200 000 update

That's helped a lot. thank you.

noyasystem

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
retnab   
6 hours ago, spooky_squirrel said:

The Long Game ability on the site preview card not actually in anymore?

The website still has it on the Abyssinia card, so I think it's still in place.  The allegiance card posted in this thread above is from December, when it wasn't a thing Abyssinia had yet.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Aaron   

Yeah, you're quoting me from December 2016, and the rules weren't finalized then. I don't know when they got the Long Game, but they certainly haven't always had it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×