My Competitive Zoraida Build

orkdork

Zoraida was my first master (love the aesthetic), but after I started playing other masters, she quickly fell off my radar. There simply wasn't ever a time I could imagine playing Zoraida, other than for nostalgia (ah, the newbie days!). All Zoraida could really do is voodoo tricks with Iggy, which if your opponent could counter, left Zoraida really weak. (Paralyze is done infinitely better by Pandora with Voices).

But then I read McTavish, and I realized that Neverborn could have their own ranged crew, something that none of those other masters really does well, using Zoraida!

The core of the crew:

Zoraida, all upgrades optional

McTavish, most likely Hexed Among You

Doppelganger

Iggy

You now have two very effective ways to attack at ranged: voodoo/iggy and McTavish. Doppelganger and Zoraida let you get more of whichever is working that turn.

If your opponent has both the activation control and condition removal, voodoo tricks won't work well. The good news is that Iggy can at least put down some gator snacks for McTavish, and you can pour your Zoraida/Doppel engine into McTavish instead.

Furthermore, you have very distinct ways of dealing damage: a ton of 2/4/6 flips from McTavish for taking down small stuff, focused McTavish shots for cheating in severe 6 to get around armor, and the Iggy burn pile for a pair of 6 (or more on one) damage ticks at the end of the turn (read up on condition resolution order, because you can do something nuts like burning 10 and have it resolve BEFORE the voodoo damage, based on who is first player, resulting in 10 damage THEN the 6 from voodoo, getting around Hard to Kill).

Henchmen and Enforcers are easy pickings for this crew. A henchman per turn is quite easy. Masters can even be taken down from the McTavish duplication insanity (snack + dopple + zoraida means up to 9 "McTavish" AP if the cards are flowing).