Hoffman: Rail Golem, Metal Gamin and so on..

PowerLooped

Hi there,

i'm new to Malifaux and to this forum. I just have a few questions....

1) Is metal gamin so important for the Ca 8? I mean, does it change so much to the crew hiring one?

2) Why is Rail Golem considered to became a monster with hoffman? I know the power loop bonuses, but will it be easy to use the trigger from Locomotion many times?

3) Isn't the Peacekeeper just better than Rail Golem? In which order (from best to worst) you would put Howard Lengstone, Peacekeeper and Rail Golem? Why?

4) Can hunter use the chain arpoon to pull an enemy model and make it finish in the trap that Pathfinder drop between hunter and the enemy or it will pull the trap?

Thanks for watching and for the answes ^_^

• Like 1

1) It's nice to have but far from mandatory. Hoffman can function just fine without Metal Gamins.

2) Rail Golem is quite durable and hits really hard. Its weaknesses are its low speed, Df and Ml. Hoffman can buff all those things. If you also have Metal Gamin looped even Locomotion becomes easier to pull off thanks to Ca 8. Not having enough burning isn't usually a problem either because the Rail Golem has built in trigger that gives it burning +1 when it hits with its Ml attack. Obviously you still need to have :tomes in your hand though.

3) Peacekeeper is different from Rail Golem. It isn't nearly as dangerous in melee but it has even more durability and a nice ranged attack. Out of the three models you listed, my personal favorite is Howard, because of his speed, damage, and Ml 7. He isn't quite as dependent on Hoffman's help as the other two, and doesn't become near useless if you don't draw any :tomes. That being said, I don't feel like there's a huge difference between the three in terms usefulness in Hoffman crews. I sometimes even bring two of them at the same time. It should also be noted that Brutal Emissary, Joss and Ryle can also compete for that hard hitter slot.