Triggers and Suits

Wraith328

Question

Hello,

I am new to Malifaux and  am teaching  myself this game with only the rulebook to guide me. I am sorry if this is a stupid question but 2 things are giving me  a hard time at this point:

1) How do you handle triggers where the given number also has assigned suit?

Example: Mei Feng: Tiger's Claw (Ml 6masks / Rst: Df / Rg: ml 1) The superheated condition is gained by a mask being in the duel total. Does that mean she automatically  gets this condition every time? Or do i need an additional mask in the total? It doesn't  make sense to have it singled  out as a trigger if is automatic does it?

2) How do you resolve abilities with stat and suit specifics ?

Example;  Moon shinobi have the stumble around drunk ability. Df/Wp (masks)?

I appreciate any insight on this matter. 

Thank you.

4 answers to this question

Most of the time, Mei Feng can just get the burning automatically, however there are a few reasons the extra burning is a trigger:

There are some abilities that make you lose printed suits (Counterspell does so for Ca actions, and one of the possible results of Brewmaster's Binge ability makes you lose all printed suits), and so you might not necessarily automatically qualify.

There are some abilities that forbid you from declaring triggers, such as Som'er Teeth Jones's ability Quit Screwin Round, which prevents all models near him from declaring triggers. In this case it stops the burning but lets the attack go through.

Mei Feng has an upgrade, Seismic Claws, that adds two more triggers to Tiger Claw. If she took this upgrade, then she would have to choose which of the three triggers to use on each attack, because you're only allowed to declare one trigger per action.