Looking for desert board assistance plz...

Mooseking

Hi y'all,

I am very new to Malifaux and I was wondering what the table surface looks like that you play on?

This is because I have invested (not much money to be honest) in some wild west buildings made from MDF. I would like to either get a game mat of cobblestones which is very easy and quite cheap -or- make a 3x3 board of deserty looking wild west.

I don't know how good wild west buildings will look on cobblestones - Im imagining not too good... :(

so

Does anyone have a good recipe for a desert board please? Is pva glued sand and a few colours of paint the best way forward? If so what colours and what order to paint them in?

Hope my ramblings make sense, thanks  ;)

Moose

• Like 1

If you're looking for something simple use and easy on the models (and can afford it) I'd get the gaming mat.  Clear off a space to play, roll out the mat and done.  If you've got the space, time and ability then it's a simple matter to cut up some foam board, slap some glue and sand down and paint it up.  You can get colors matched from your local hardware store to your favorite paint colors.  I'd stick with medium and light brown and tans.  The difficult part will be getting the glue, sand and paint on the boards, so you'll need some drop cloths.

I have built these desert tables

Side1.jpg

and

Round3VonSchilllurkingthruthemines.jpg

using the following recipe.

The base material is thin fiber board type material, the type typically used in drawer bottoms (smooth on one side dimpled and "hairy" on the other). Generally about an 1/8" thick (usually available in 4' x 8' sheets). Everything adheres better if you use the rough side up though it does make the board a bit prone to sliding.