$100 budget to start

kalcan

Hey guys! I'm a wargaming veteran but brand new to malifaux. I've gotten a few demo games under my belt and have read most of the fluff, and am ready to start getting some models. I really like the eastern theme of TT, and really want to play Shenlong when he comes out. Keeping that in mind, I'm wondering what you guys would suggest my first purchases to be. I would like to have a master thats pretty easy to learn the game with, as well as have some starting models that would synergies with both my starting master and Senlong. Thanks!

Welcome! :)

<MOD HAT>  

For some reason the forum software created a second version of this thread, I'm arbitrarily blaming that on Aaron.

I removed the other thread. I don't think anyone got chance to post in there before I deleted it but if you did post and it's vanished my bad.

</MOD HAT>

As I'm an Arcanist, and know nothing about Ten Thunders, I'll leave you crazy ninjas to it. :)

If you really like the eastern style, McCabe and Lynch might not really be your bag of tea?

I would go with either Misaki or Mei Feng. Both are pretty easy to learn and have very solid box sets. The Minions included synergize well enough with Shenlong, as they both play around with conditions and are rather independent.

Shenlong likes Thunder Archers or Samurai which offer some solid ranged support to both Misaki and Mei Feng and thus might be a further consideration. If you go the Mei Feng route, you might want some Metal Gamin or a Rail Golem, but they only work with her. If you go Misaki you might want Oiran and Yamaziko.

If you want to read into the models and their tactical applications, you might want to go HERE.

Aaron's too busy ruining Through the Breach to keep an eye on the forums. ;)