Jump to content

solkan

Members
  • Content count

    2,266
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

3 Followers

About solkan

  • Rank
    Avatar
  • Birthday 02/23/1973
  1. Lady J - Justice Unleashed

    I don't know whether the card has been corrected, but here's a thread by the big cheese saying two things that look like Tactical Actions (no Rst entry) are Tactical Actions, even if mislabeled:
  2. Lady J - Justice Unleashed

    There are a few instances of similar misprints that have happened with book one and two cards calling things the wrong names. All of the known instances have been stealth erratad on the cards (without updating the books). For the record, I know there were threads about it, and the bizarre mechanical implications, but I don't remember which upgrade was last discussed. But since it's an upgrade (and one sided) you can check the card on print in demand site. Edit: A link to the print on demand card where you can click on the preview and see the card erratad to call the items in question tactical actions: http://www.wargamevault.com/product/189945/Justice-Unleashed?term=Justice+unl&test_epoch=0
  3. Gremlin Crier - Rules Q

    Part of your question is answered by pointing you to the Aura rules. By default, you resolve every instance of an aura that's in range. For instance, the stacking example in the rule book is the Canine Remains ability Hunting Dogs. If you're within 3 Hunting Dog auras, all three apply. When you add the words "one or more models with this ability", the ability does less, not more.
  4. Gremlin Crier - Rules Q

    How are you planning on "healing as you go" when you damage multiple criers at the same time? On the other hand, Wyrd has a peculiar style for writing the auras the contain the word "one or more". Compared to those other, similarly worded effects: "discards one or more cards" means you only resolve the ability once, regardless of how many cards are discarded "within 3 of one or more models with this ability" means that you only get to resolve the ability once (pick one eligible instance of the ability), not once per Gremlin Crier in existence at the time
  5. Some questions about markers.

    Are you trying to conclude that you're no longer in base contact with a marker when you physically overlap it? That's the wrong conclusion to draw. Especially when there's this: If they marker can't stay where you placed it, you're not placing it in that position. Note the FAQ entry explaining that base contact is defined as physically touching. Go back to the basic definition of a marker as denoting a position on the table. Effectively, the vertical position of the marker does not matter. See above. The FAQ entry concerning placing markers under models was essentially added to deal with a tactic of trying to hide markers under models.
  6. Criticals and Jokers

    You have to fall back on the Joker rules as far as I can tell: Red joker - player's choice of suit. Value 14 for the card. Black joker - no location, so default to Chest if you need a location. Value 0 for the card. Comparing things, I think the special treatment of jokers during critical was removed because it seemed unnecessarily fiddly.
  7. Death Contract and Eternal Darkness

    That appears to the proper sequence if you just go by General Timing. On the other hand, that sort of retroactive "Resolve some effects caused by C, then resolve an effect that prevents X" has been overruled in the past as unintended. For instance Seamus's hat trick. In other words, the effect preventing the model getting killed prevents the other effects triggered by the model being killed. (Because this isn't Warmachine/Hordes.)
  8. Let's just completely ignore how overpowered that makes Paralyze effects, right?
  9. Story Encounters

    I'm looking forward to seeing if story encounter index is missing anything. (I'm going to try to add University of Transmortis and book five shortly.).
  10. Personally, almost none of my terrain with doorways have doors that are scaled for the bases of the figures. (The doorways end up being scaled relative to the figures, not the bases.) So almost always we end up just saying "Everyone can fit through that doorway" or something. Then again, I've lost track of the number of times I've played at a tournament table where buildings were just declared impassible terrain to just avoid having to deal with the interior at all. And I'm not really sure that I've ever seen a nice, functional way of dealing with 50mm bases in a building interior. I've seen a few buildings where the interior ended up being drawn on the floors and walls of the building, but I haven't decided if I like that approach yet.
  11. Crafting rules

    Private business is a recipe for producing infinite, unlimited money that has a huge failure rate. If the player wants to sell their construct, you have to make them answer the question "How, where, and when, are you going to do this?" I mean, if they set up shop in the swamp, they're likely to get their shop for free and then proceed to sell 0 constructs in a year. If they set up shop in a town, they have to pay rent, pay for someone to watch the store when they run off on adventures, and they still need to explain to you "Who is going to buy this construct?" Those are all good ideas. But I think you may be resisting too much. I'd give the player two choices: "If you make a big deal about this, you could make a lot of money but you're going to be busy with it all the time. You will be docked money whenever you leave the business on its own to adventure; and have to actively take up adventuring time to take care of your business. You (the player) will have to explain to, and convince, me (the fate master) where your shop is and how you have enough customers to make money." And all of the things in your post are going to be complications that may come up. "We can assume you make just enough to cover the cost of the store, plus whatever else is convenient for the plot." Because why would they go off on adventures if they were rich off of construct sales. Really, as Fatemaster I'm going to look at the player's business scheme as the best adventure hook ever, because every bad thing that happens to it is justifiable for both drama and game balance. Why did the store burn down? "Bad things happen." Why is the store being robbed? "Bad things happen." Why are the Guild arresting you? "Someone committed a crime using a construct you built. And... Bad things happen." And, really, it's the same sort of thing that I'd tell someone that wanted to claim that their character made money from any other business, whether it was farming, bounty hunting, or assassination. "You're one of the Fated now. Please tell me about your plans, and we'll see what fate has in store for them. >:-}"
  12. Triggers and blast damage

    Ramos's Repulsion trigger pushes the Attacker away from Ramos, it doesn't push Ramos or the arachnid. See Opposed Duels for the part in the rules where Attacker and Defender are defined. There's no Attacker or Defender in a simple Duel, even if the simple duel is using the Df stat. See paragraph three of Blasts, the last sentence: "In situations where the order that models suffer damage matters, the Attacker may determine the order in which the affected models resolve the blast effects." No, there's no such thing as "simultaneous" as far as Malifaux is concerned. Ramos heals as each of the spiders die, there's no delay or queue for the effect. That's what the words "When another friendly Construct... is killed, this model heals 2 damage means." 'When' effects happen as soon as their condition is satisfied, before you continue resolving whatever caused the condition. In practice, that means that when X and Y happen in a rule: X happens. Any effect that changes how X happens get applied now. (Effects like "When this model suffers damage, increase or decrease the damage by some amount" doesn't happen retroactively.) Resolve all of the effects triggered "when" X happens that don't specify happening later or earlier. Resolve all of the effects triggered "after" X happens that don't specify happening later or earlier. Then Y happens. This isn't 2nd edition Warmachine/Hordes. There's no simultaneous damage and healing. (And no Attack Main Sequence. )
  13. Nightmare Edition...no box

    Considering that there are two different prices and time schedules (and probably companies) for producing the figures and the boxes, I'd say otherwise. It's also entirely possible that they did order the same number of boxes and models, and either boxes got damaged or the box shipment was split in to multiple shipments and not all of the boxes arrived on schedule. However it happened, if you got sent a model without a box it's because they ran out of boxes. Then you should probably contact Wyrd through their contact form, to see if they can either provide you with the box or the images of from the box. https://www.wyrd-games.net/contact You'll want the "Damaged/Mispacked Products" form.
  14. Nightmare Edition...no box

    Because occasionally Wyrd gets into a situation where they run out of boxes before they run out of models, and they figure that you'd rather have the models than a refund. Especially if the sales for the model exceed what they were expecting--the production run is X sets of figures, and Y boxes, with the idea they'll order Z more boxes later. (I think they have the boxes produced separately and do some packaging on their own.) But usually they've included a card or note explaining that they ran out of boxes. Did that possibly get lost somewhere?
  15. Shadow Lair

    Stop right here, and take the reasonable interpretation of a rule is the correct one. Otherwise there's the issue that the rules forum rules prohibit devil's advocacy.
×