Welcome to Wyrd Forums

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more!

This message will be removed once you have signed in.

solkan

Members
  • Content count

    2,071
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

3 Followers

About solkan

  • Rank
    Avatar
  • Birthday 02/23/1973
  1. Looking at the scoring sequence, I don't think there's an actual problem with a scheme marker being effectively both friendly and enemy. It simply requires that both players perform in six steps under Winning the Encounter in lock-step instead of one player racing ahead. And it probably feels a bit funny. For example, in step 4 both players choose a scheme that uses markers. Because of a Bandido, both players end up scoring off of the same scheme marker. In Step 5, that scheme marker gets removed. Then in step 6 each player scores their other scheme, and could end up "sharing" a scheme marker again. But it's also possible that Player A with a Bandido might score in step 4 (and remove in Step 5) a scheme marker that Player B wanted to score with in Step 6. Player B is out of luck in this case, because the scheme marker is removed before they can use it. There's an inevitable "scheme chicken" timing issue for both players wanting the other player to choose which scheme to score first, which probably has an answer that Player 1 chooses first. But that could use a one sentence errata.
  2. All of the Emissary models have the 'Emissary of Fate' attribute. Which Emissary do you mean? If you declare Archanists and take Mei Feng as your leader, you can hire the Arcane Emissary (the mechanical bull) because that's the Arcanist Emissary. Mei Feng's Conflux is dual faction, so you can give the Emissary her special Conflux of Combat upgrade, or the non-master specific Arcane Conflux upgrade. There are Ten Thunders and Gremlins Foundry (and Arcanist and Ten Thunders) models that Mei Feng can hire regardless of declared faction due to her Infiltration(Foundry). That's how Mei Feng includes Kang in an Arcanist crew. But the Shadow Emissary (the oriental dragon) isn't covered by that.
  3. There are two different timing regimes at work: 1. A trigger which says the magic words "After resolving" resolves in the 'After step five' step of the action. This happens because of the bullet point definition of those words. 2. Other effects that say "After resolving X" where X is an attack or an action, get resolved immediately after the action is completely resolved. Note that that can mean any number of generated actions could be resolved, if the 'After resolving an action' effect was in response to a Charge or an attack with a recursive trigger. There's a disclaimer in the FAQ concerning the perils of improper generalization, I believe that warning applies to your case. So when the FAQ says this: then you can't point to that FAQ entry and start claiming that the same applies to other different phrasings. In any event... So, say it's Mei Feng vs. Lynch, and Lynch has Rapid Accelaration due to the Effigy putting it there. Mei Feng's rocking the Seimic Claws upgrade so she has a recursive attack trigger on her Tiger Claws attack. Mei Feng declares Tiger Claws, spends her 1AP, declares Tremors, Lynch declares Hold 'em (an "after resolving the Attack Action" trigger). For the sake of example, Mei Feng cheated a card to get the trigger suit. In "Step 5" damage is applied to Lynch In "After Step 5", the Tremors trigger resolves and Mei Feng takes the Tiger Claws action again. Everybody flips cards for the attack duel, Mei Feng cheats to get her trigger suit, declares Tremors, Lynch declares Hold 'em. In "Step 5" damage is applied to Lynch In "After Step 5", the Tremors trigger resolves and Mei Feng takes the Tiger Claws action again. Everybody flips cards for the attack duel, Mei Feng cheats to win but doesn't have the suit for Tremors, Lynch declares Hold 'em. In "Step 5" damage is applied to Lynch. In "After Step 5" nothing happens. The grand-child Tiger Claws attack has been resolved, so Lynch's Hold third 'em trigger resolves and Mei Feng suffers 2 damage (which her Armor +1 reduces to 1). Lynch could choose to end Rapid Acceleration now. The child Tiger Claws attack has been resolved, so Lynch's Hold 'em second trigger resolves and Mei Feng suffers 2 damage (which her Armor +1 reduces to 1). Lynch could choose to end Rapid Acceleration now. The parent Tiger Claws attack has been resolved, so Lynch's original Hold 'em trigger resolves and Mei Feng suffers 2 damage (which her Armor +1 reduces to 1). Lynch could choose to end Rapid Acceleration now. The General Timing rules (or at least the printed version in front of me, in case I'm forgetting an errata) state that a Trigger which has the same timing as an Ability gets resolved before the Ability. I'm presuming that the same applies to Conditions.
  4. "The usual restrictions" includes the number of upgrades a model can have. So you can't attach a third upgrade if you have two, but you can get back or get a different upgrade if you discarded one due to "What did it just throw?" or Limbs to Spare or some other reason.
  5. The Special Dispensation is missing the words "regardless of Faction" (or similar phrasing) that all of the other 'hire out of Faction' abilities contain. The phrase seems to have been left out during the change from the Zoraida style "hire ... as if they had the Mercenary characteristic" version. Reporting this as a consistency problem because the abilities which specify the ability to hire without saying "regardless of Faction" are the abilities which allow more than one copy of a totem to be hired.
  6. Looking at Corrupting Influence, the timing of Rotund, and Spew Lava having , it really feels to me like Spew Lava benefiting from Corrupting Influence is an accident of word economy. (I keep getting things that feel like word salad when I try to rewrite Corrupting Influence so that only other model's Ca actions and the Obsidian statue's Ml action benefit...) Suppose that two changes were made to the model: Change Spew Lava to Rg:6 instead of Rg:6 so that it can Spew while engaged. Rewrite Corrupting Influence to change "... or from one of this model's Ml Actions..." to "...or from one of this model's Action", so that Spew always benefits from Corrupting Influence. You'd want to sit and spew forever, right? And you'd probably just Spew once models engaged the model. And I think that would be the big problem is that if you changed Spew to remove the , then you make a tar pit model that becomes "Damned if you do, damned if you don't" for the other player. Because it's not like it's practical to block line of sight so that the Ht3 50mm based model won't be able to see what it wants to Spew at if you try to tie it up and don't kill it.
  7. To be honest, the Infinity tables that I've seen or played on haven't been super vertical compared to the Malifaux tables I've seen or played on. You end up having to make the same sorts of design concessions due to the fact that most models in each game have a 4 to 6 inch movement speed, can't fly and don't climb very fast. For Malifaux terrain, you have to be careful about a few issues in terrain definition: When you assign terrain traits such as blocking, cover, impassible, and climbable, you need to break the terrain item into pieces and specify which pieces of the terrain item the trait applies to. For example, for a wall, you probably want the blocking, hard cover, impassible and climbable traits to be applied to: The top surface of the wall is open terrain (no traits) so you can stand on it without being in cover The sides of the wall are climbable and hard cover The inside of the wall of the wall is impassible and blocking terrain so you can't see through or move through it Just like in Infinity, be careful about when you consider the ground (or flat surfaces) terrain. You only really want to consider the ground/ceiling blocking when drawing line of sight to models on different levels. Just like in Infinity, you have to be careful when setting up a vertically oriented table to consider how much of a "walking vs. flying" divide you create, and may need to be liberal in the use of ladders, stairs, and other scenery elements for avoiding vertical movement penalties. Both 1st and 2nd edition Malifaux tried to use a mostly "top-down" line of sight system. Non-movement measuring is "top-down", so auras and pulses end up being cylinders that extend up and down indefinitely (limited by blocking terrain and intervening models), and weapon ranges ignore vertical distances mostly. So there's a definite bias towards "flat" tables mechanically, but you can make a vertical table work right if you want it.
  8. But in "real life", tanuki are generally classified as a type of yokai, not a type of oni. That leads to various correctional hypotheses such as: Malifaux is using the term "oni" to refer to a specific but arbitrary subset of yokai, and 'Oni' happens to be as convenient a term to appropriate as any other. In an alternate reality with soul stones, the tanuki (and possibly other animal yokai) are significantly different from the creatures to be classified as something else. In other words, the common mythical classification is wrong due to scientific evidence. After all, Shang isn't an Oni, either.
  9. They're in this thread:
  10. There are three disclaimers to that: 1. Sloth's defensive trigger was FAQ'd: 2. As demonstrated in the Dreamer's FAQ entry and elsewhere, a rule saying that something happens "after" something else is essentially "immediately after" rather than waiting to allow other events to occur. 3. There are a few "After succeeding" triggers like Taelor's Crushing Blow and From the Heavens which shouldn't be "After succeeding" triggers, because they modify things that are supposed to happen in Step 5. Some other examples of triggers that apply during step 5 or even before: Malifaux Rat's Swarm trigger applies essentially as soon as it's declared: Critical Strike applies during Step 5 (because that's when damage is applied) Ulix's Wail of Pork: Dogmantra quoted the FAQ entry already, but I'll do it too. and the related main FAQ: For a concrete example using models from the main book: Sat Mei Feng attack's Rasputina using Tiger Claw. In trigger declaration Rasputina declares Sub Zero and Mei Feng declares Superheated (an 'After damaging' trigger). Mei Feng flips moderate damage (it's a 2/4/5 attack). So Rasputina suffers 4 damage and Sub Zero "goes off", ending Mei Feng's activation and Superheated never resolves.
  11. From the rulebook on Declare Triggers: So there's an odd situation in the rules. As far as the rules are concerned, the four most common trigger phrases do indicate that the trigger is resolved later (in the "After step 5" step). In other words, as far as the rules are concerned, "as usual" is backwards and the most frequently encountered triggers are exceptions to the normal timing for triggers. Note that the bullet point lists for After succeeding and the other triggers are considered to be part of the trigger description (since it's defining what those four specific phrases mean), so their delay is still consistent with the highlighted rule. The Dreamer's trigger isn't "After succeeding". The reason for the FAQ is to point out that the phrase "After an Attack Action succeeds" is not an elaborate rephrasing of the words "After succeeding". Because of that fact, you go back to the part of the Trigger rules highlighted in red "A Trigger’s effect is resolved immediately unless indicated in the Trigger’s description" and resolve the trigger immediately.
  12. The inconsistency in wording doesn't change the meaning in the Wind Gamin's ability. You've answered your own questions. The answer is "No" in both cases.
  13. Wow, that'd be like ultra hard mode for Ressers.
  14. Three reasons: Consistency with other models. Setting up future attachments adding a trigger. Setting up future models to copy the attribute from the action. Most of that is just "maybe it'll be used in the future", but that's the way it is.
  15. "Blocking" for terrain is the property that says 'You can't draw line of sight across this thing" based on height. The mechanism for models in between essentially works the same as the mechanism for intervening blocking terrain. So if you ignore Blocking for models and terrain, you just draw line of sight across anything in the way. Since the rule says not to ignore cover, then you still follow the cover rules, and need to draw line of sight lines to see if any of them cross cover granting terrain close enough to the target to grant cover.